Exploring Kyoto (Part 2) – Kyoto Imperial Palace, Kiyomizudera Temple, & Higashiyama-ku street

On my fourth day in Kyoto, I started my day early to visit Kyoto Imperial Palace. Kyoto Imperial Palace has a long history of being the emperor’s residential place until 1868. I have an excited feelings visiting this place & once I am near the palace compound, my excitement grew stronger.

I am mesmerized by the beauty of the surrounding area, let alone of the sight of the palace interior. Even pictures won’t do justice on this palace beauty.

img_3732
At the palace

Outside the palace compound there are plenty of beautiful trees, perfect for autumn sighting.

How to got to Kyoto Imperial Palace: Stop at Imadegawa station

After spending around 1 hour & a half here, I made my way back to Kyoto station to get my lunch. I went back to the CUBE & to one of the restaurant there (I am not sure of the name now -__-).

Oh boy, it was a lunch to be remembered. Japan hospitality at its best. I was seated at the sushi bar & get to see how the sushi chef works. This restaurant serves one of the freshest sushi I have ever tasted. Oishiii…Can I bring you home, chef? ❤

After the awesome possum lunch, I made my way to Kiyomizudera temple via the city bus. Upon arrival, it’s a hilly walk up to the temple entrance. Almost died.

img_3738
Walking up the hill, walk walk…
There’s a fee to be paid to get inside the temple. It was 400 yen if I was not mistaken. But, sadly I found it to be overcrowded & overrated temple instead =(

I guess it would be nicer if the crowd is lesser so that you can enjoy the scenery better. So maybe you guys can drop by early in the morning instead?

After I finished my round inside & around the temple, I take a walk down the Higashiyama-ku street, which is located in front of temple entrance. The street is a great shopping street & you can find all sorts of goodies here. I tried the water chestnut green tea ice cream here & it was divine.

img_3744
Higashiyama-ku street

Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
Yums
How to go to Kiyomizudera Temple: Take bus no. 100 or 206 at Kyoto station & get off at Kiyomizu-michi bus stop

As dawn approached, I made my way back to Kyoto station & pay a visit to PORTA, an underground shopping mall just below Kyoto station. Purchased a jacket & bought a dashi broth salmon rice as a take away dinner. Oh my, dashi broth, you are my fave now. Where do I find you back in KL?

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset
Dinnahh – dashi broth salmon rice
 Next post: TOKIYO here I come!

Useful info:

Train, Bus, Shinkansen, Airplanes schedule/route: Hyperdia

Info on Passes in Kyoto: http://www.insidekyoto.com/special-kyoto-bus-train-subway-passes

Offline Map: maps.me (App Store)

Free Wifi in Japan: Japan Wi-Fi, Travel Japan (App Store)

Halal food guide in Japan: Halal Gourmet Japan, Halal Navi, MusNavi, Halal Media Japan, HHWT

Japan info group in Facebook: Road To Japan

Accomodation: Airbnb (App Store – sign up using my ID here to get RM90 off your first Airbnb stay!)

Leave a Reply

