To the Land of The Rising Sun

Hello!

I am back! (sort of, in the blogging world). I think it will be a waste if I do not share on my journey to Japan last November. My housemate did encourage me to share on my solo trip (yes, I went there on my own), so that she can share it with her friend.

So, Izyan & your friend, this is for you! 😉

I wish to inspire all female traveller (especially) that still have to muster up a courage to travel alone. Trust me, once you do it you will be hooked. And I think Japan is a pretty safe country to start travelling solo. But, preparation is always the key. Prayers, tawakkal too. And do get restu from your parents to travel as well, okay? =)

Let’s begin!

So, I purchased Airasia returned ticket (KL – Osaka) almost a year ago (Airasia free seats guys) and managed to grab the tix for around RM800 (add on not included). Quite a good deal I think? But you can also use other airlines. Skyscanner is a good place to survey the flight ticket. Read that ANA Airline do have a good offer (full service) from time to time, you can check out their website.

For this trip, my main concern in planning part would be the transportation. Heard that the train network in Japan is MASSIVE and a big headache! Well…turn out that it isn’t so.

Your best friend here is…HYPERDIA!

umeda-sb-osaka-station-shinsaibashi-240-yen
Hyperdia website – showing you transportation from Point A to Point B (the train is on time!)

Just hop over this website & it will show you the train, bus, shinkansen & even flight schedule from point A to point B in Japan. As well as the ticket price. How convenient.

I covered Osaka in 3 days, Kyoto in 5 days and Tokyo in 3 days.

OSAKA – Day 1

img_6123
It’s Kansai down there! Can you see it, can you see? *excited mode*

I arrived at Kansai Airport (KIX) & settled the immigration around 9:30AM local time (1 hour ahead from Malaysia time). Then I walked straight to the JR Ticketing Office to purchase the Haruka + ICOCA card (¥3,100). Haruka ticket is a discounted Kansai-Airport Express train ticket that take you from the airport straight to Tennoji, Shin-Osaka & Kyoto station. I chose this ticket because of the discounted ticket price & a shorter time to get to Tennoji station via Haruka. The ICOCA card that comes together are pre-loaded with ¥1,500. There a lot of other tickets that you can take from KIX, just take a look at the ticketing area near the Kansai-airport station.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
ICOCA card – preloaded with 1,500 yen

After getting the ticket, I went to KIX Tourist Information to see any promo that I can take advantage of (supposed to drop by here first since it’s just on the right after the arrival hall). I managed to get a discounted ticket for Kaiyukan Aquarium at ¥2,000 (normal price if purchased at Kaiyukan ¥2,300, save ¥300!).

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Kansai Tourist Information Center

Afterwards, I proceed to board the Haruka express to Tennoji station & switch train at Tennoji station to Tobushijomea station via to JR Yamatoji Line (OJI). This is the area where my stay is located & my host are waiting for me at the station.

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset
Tatami room – love at first sight!

After settling down at my stay (it’s an Airbnb), my first must see destination is – Osaka Castle!

The castle itself is a sight to behold. Too beautiful.

img_6486
Osaka Castle
Processed with VSCO with s3 preset
Breathtaking. Look at the autumn leaves!

Walked around & get myself a green tea soft serve ice cream & dango.

How to go to Osaka Castle: Stop at Tanimachi 4-chrome (Tanimachirokuchrome) Station, the castle is near this station (5-10 minutes walk)

Afterwards, I proceed to Shinsaibashi & Dotonbori area. I wanna see the Glico Man!

When you arrived at Shinsaibashi, please make sure your Yen is at the ready because…It’s a shopping heaven! Shinsaibashi is a 600 metre shopping street, you will surely have to restrain your credit card from flying.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Shinsaibashi
Processed with VSCO with s2 preset
Shop till you drop

At the end of the shopping line, you can see the Glico Man!

img_6475
Hellooo!
img_1848
Asahi Super Dry – one of the landmark in Dotonbori

After all the walking, of course you get hungreyy, it’s my mistake not to go pass the bridge as there are tons of eateries there including the famous Alaskan crab. I went back to the Shinsaibashi shopping street & settled for my dinner at the famous cheap meal Yoshinoya chain (this is not a halal certified place so please eat on your own discretion) – I opt for the spicy roe topping udon set + prawn & squid tentacles tempura. Then I grab the oh-so-famous Luke’s Lobster roll (after much consideration). No regret, it is as fresh of a lobster as it gets. Price: ¥980 (regular lobster roll)

How to go to Shinsaibashi & Dotonbori:  Stop at Shinsaibashi Station (3 minutes walk to Shinsaibashi shopping street & 10-15 minutes walk to Dotonbori)

Day 2 & 3 in Osaka & my journey to Kyoto will continue in the next post. Thanks for reading!

Useful info:

Train, Bus, Shinkansen, Airplanes schedule/route: Hyperdia

Haruka + ICOCA card info

Offline Map: maps.me (App Store)

Free Wifi in Japan: Japan Wi-Fi, Travel Japan (App Store)

Halal food guide in Japan: Halal Gourmet Japan, Halal Navi, MusNavi, Halal Media Japan, HHWT (App Store)

Japan Info Group in Facebook: Road To Japan (helpful info here)

Accommodation: Airbnb (App Store – sign up using my ID to get RM90 off your first Airbnb stay!)

Recommended Airbnb host in Osaka: https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/8656712 (I stayed here while in Osaka!)

2 thoughts on “To the Land of The Rising Sun

Leave a Reply

